Novel-Writing Status Update #4

I began my day yesterday ahead of schedule and ended it 600 words behind. There don’t seem to be enough hours in the day to do everything that I wish to get done — even if I go to bed at 2 a.m. and wake up at 8!

However, I was extremely productive with my day yesterday. I have two protagonists in my story: Aurora and Cecily. The chapters alternate between their stories and color plays a significant role in both of their flashbacks (see last post about characters based off of color). I had Aurora’s story figured out, all the way down to the estimated number of words it would take. Cecily’s story though, was proving far more difficult than I had anticipated and I had skipped her second entry because I had no idea what to write about. Until 1:27 p.m. yesterday afternoon and I had an epiphany!

I won’t tell you everything (spoilers!) but I will give you a vague overview. Aurora means “heavens of color” and Cecily means “dull, colorless”…make of that what you will. But I finally figured out how to make them foils of each other. I now have a map of where Cecily’s story is going and I have estimated word counts.

Perhaps most importantly though, I know how this story will end. I’m one of those writers that has to know how a story is going to end before I write it; otherwise, I don’t know what’s going to happen in the middle. It’s far easier for me to begin a journey if I know where it will end.

Current Word Count: 6,265
Tonight’s Goal: 8,335

2 thoughts on “Novel-Writing Status Update #4

Leave a Reply

