There is nothing better than the encouragement of a friend.

Has anyone ever told you exactly what you needed to hear, exactly when you needed to hear it?

It’s like fitting a key inside a lock and the feeling the satisfaction of listening to the cogs turn before you open the door. It’s like putting the last puzzle piece into place in the 1000 piece landscape you’ve been working on all night and experiencing the success of completion. It’s like the fire in your blood when someone else’s fingers intertwine with yours and, just for moment, you aren’t alone in this big old world anymore.

One of the best feelings in the world is knowing that someone else believes you and appreciates the effort that you put into enjoying life. One of my friends (I haven’t known him long at all but I would still go so far as to consider him a friend) told me today that he read my blog. I didn’t give him the name and I have no idea how he found out, but I’m glad he did. It’s been quite a few days since I have written, although I meant to write earlier several times and I have several topics whizzing about in my mind. Life got in the way and there were more priorities that seemed to interfere with the time needed to type out a post. I recently returned from my family reunion and now that work has continued, I remember how few hours there are in a day.

Joy tingles in my whole body when someone comments on the accomplishments that I stack up in those 24 hours. I was even asked tonight to share a responsibility, to lead a bible study on Chapter 6 of Galatians. I was unaware that my own observations and questions qualified me as a leader, but I’m pleased and pleasantly surprised. I appreciate the trust they have to ask me to do such a thing. It may seem little, but it holds a special importance for me since I have given that impression in such a short amount of time. I am usually such a reserved person so it is still new to me that someone could form an opinion about someone else so quickly (although do not think that I do not respect or appreciate that opinion, because I do).

I said usually. I meant what I said, but as of late, I have noticed a slight change. I am more apt to smile easily and I find myself pleased at small circumstances. Whatever had been plaguing my mood for months now appears to be dissipating — and now just as my summer is coming to a close! I am slowly evolving into a person who is willing to open up and speak voluntarily about my private life (slowly being the key word there) and, while part of me isn’t sure about it, there is another part of me that is excited that I’m finally going through the change. There’s a Doctor Who quotes that says:

“When you think about it, we’re different people all through our lives, and that’s okay — that’s good! You’ve got to keep moving so long as you remember all the people you used to be.”

I think Matt Smith articulates it perfectly. I have been several people in this life: a soccer player, a small-town girl, a freshman, a girlfriend, a single person, a religious skeptic, a faithful Christian, a tomboy, a very feminine nerd. I value the experiences contained in all of those titles. Nothing could make me forget who I was during all those stages of my life and deep down, I will wear all of those hats. I am a complex person. I am me.

And I like it when people can see just a hint of the perplexing puzzle that is me and I like it even more when they encourage me to continue to evolve into the best version of myself.

So, Justin, I don’t know when you will read this post, but I’m very thankful for the words that you gave me tonight. All you said was “I read your blog and I love your style of writing.” It was one sentence but it was more than enough inspiration to create this post.

Therefore, I thank you.

One thought on “There is nothing better than the encouragement of a friend.

  1. itsjustin93 says:

    Thank YOU, Sydney! This absolutely made my day. I can’t remember if you or David brought up your blog, but I googled it. 🙂

    and I’m glad your summer has been encouraging! It’s been great having you at Bailey’s, and the summer has been great for me, too. I hope we can all take comfort and hope from what we’ve studied as we go our different ways this fall.

Leave a Reply

