Girls are made of sugar and spice and everything nice.

You’ve heard the old nursery rhyme a thousand times. Boys are made of mud and puppy dog tails (not quite sure where those boys came from but I’ve never seen any like that) and girls are made of candy. While I understand the original intention to explain the difference between boys and girls, I shudder at the little ditty — and not just because of the mutilation of animals!

I’m not a sugar-coated lollipop. I’m a piece of salted caramel. My sweetness is enhanced by the subtle saltiness and vice versa. I can be a sweet, submissive person with a gentle heart who cares for everyone and would love to go around helping people through the generosity of my heart. At the same time though, I’m a strong woman with a dynamic personality who wants to be able to express her opinions and chase her dreams. I’m the pretty girly girl who loves to get dirty while playing soccer. I’m the little bookworm in the corner of the bookstore who has a penchant for exploding beakers in her Chemistry lab. I’m not necessarily one or the other but a pleasant mixture of both.

If you’ve read my blog at all, you know my affinity for labeling myself as a paradox. Salted caramel is no different! I’m not sure what kind of guy I’ll attract with this combination but I don’t think I’d want to change that. I like being unexpected and I don’t think I would ever want someone to lose the surprise when they’re around me. Would it get tiring? Maybe? I’m not sure. My friend certainly don’t think so and I’ve been around them enough for them to know.

Now that I think about it though, it might be exhausting trying to decide what kind of mood I’m in for a day. It would definitely be more effort than most guys are willing to put up with. But where’s the fun in that?? Routine can grow boring and there’s nothing wrong with a little bit of excitement in life! I think that God created each and every one of us with an innate desire to want to be joyful as life goes on. You always hear about the pursuit of happiness and this is exactly what I’m talking about.

So maybe I’m not a piece of fudge or a strawberry-flavored lollipop, but that doesn’t mean that I’m not a perfectly delectable piece of candy. There’s only a few with a taste for salted caramel — but I’ll be sure to find them.

Leave a Reply

