Image

The Fourth Day and a Birthday!

My mother’s birthday falls on day 4 of my 100 Happy Days. Tonight we went to see a baseball game and watched some fireworks after (how American of us). I never realize how much I miss my mama until I’m at college and someone makes a comment that’s an inside joke between us, but when I turn to the side to make a funny face and start laughing and no one is there. She’s made some mistakes in her life, but if I’m being honest, that’s one of the reasons that I respect her so much. She’s taught me a lot of things — even if one of the lessons was “do as I say, not as I do.” We look similar but we are two different sides of the same coin. While I’m very right-brained, she is an extreme lefty. We have very different interests (she would never blog and I still don’t think she understands why I like it so much) and we don’t have many common hobbies, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t understand her. That’s the amazing thing about our relationship: somehow, despite all the obstacles and absolutely no common ground, we understand each other and thrive on mutual respect.

photo 5

However, I couldn’t only put one picture on here! For her birthday, I painted two canvasses with her and my stepdad’s wedding vows framed by flowers that were in her wedding bouquet. I’m an amateur painter and I’ve never done anything this extensive in my life, but I’m proud of the way they turned out. So, of course, I had to include a picture of that as well.

photo 1 (1)

The smile on her face when I presented them to her only made mine all the brighter. Happy birthday, Mama! I hope it was a happy one 🙂

One thought on “The Fourth Day and a Birthday!

Leave a Reply

