Image

In a world where everyone seems to be larger and louder than yourself, it is comforting to have a small, quiet companion.

I have a secret. A secret spawned from childhood. A secret that only the closest ones to me know.

I still sleep with a teddy bear.

teddy bear

Okay, so it’s not that big of a deal. And now that I’ve put it on the internet, everyone will know sooner or later. It’s not exactly something I’m ashamed of but I wouldn’t say that I’m proud of it either.

But it’s true. I do sleep with a teddy bear. His name is Theodore. I have two teddy bears actually, both beige-colored and both with sweet brown eyes. One is much older than the other. Dandy is the bear I cuddled with when I was young; Theodore was acquired more recently — about 5 years ago. I don’t have to sleep with a bear but I have a tendency to curl into the fetal position when I sleep and I always end up with something in my arms. If I don’t have a stuffed animal, I will curl a wad of blanket into a ball and tuck it under my arm when I sleep. I don’t know when the habit formed, but I do it every night.

And it makes me happy šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

