In every letter, in every line, she saw him.

Hello future husband,

I wonder if that’s how we will meet. A simple hello on the sidewalk, a passing glance before one of us opens our mouth to greet each other because there was “something”. I smile at everyone I pass so I’m sure I’ll send one your way. Maybe that’s why you say hi — because you like my smile 🙂 I’ll be sure to give you quite a few of those smiles when I realize you like them.

But maybe I already know you. Maybe I’ve already flashed you one of my endearing smiles and you were too stunned to say anything. There’s a possibility that you’re on this college campus and you’re a friend of mine. I’d guess though that I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting you yet. I’d like to though.

I’m waiting eagerly to do so. I won’t come out and chase you though; you have to come to me. I may help you out in the beginning of our friendship, I might just suggest that we have coffee sometime. But you have to be the one to follow up on the idea.

I can peek through my window blinds of my dorm room and see the moon. I wonder if you’re looking at it too. It’s weird to think that you could be within a few miles of me and I don’t even realize it. At the same time, you could be on the other side of the world. Do you believe in soulmates? I don’t. I could happy with several people based on the level of settling I could do. I bet you could too. But I know you will wait for me. You don’t realize it yet but you are waiting for me to cross your path on the sidewalk just as I am. You could be in the building next door and I wouldn’t even know it. The fairytales would make it seem that I would be able to feel your presence if you were close by. Maybe I can. Maybe that tiny little smile that creeps on my lips at night when I feel contented is a result of you thinking of me. Does that little smile ever find you too? When I’m writing these letters, can you feel the thoughts I’m sending your way?

Probably not. You’ll probably think I’m stupid for suggesting such a thing. I’m probably nothing but a hopeless romantic in your eyes. But maybe, just maybe, you’ll understand where I’m coming from and return my smile with one of your own because that girl on the sidewalk who smiled for just a second, that girl with the happy face and curious eyes, that girl with a million thoughts and 10 fingers to type them all down was thinking about you.

I love you and I’m praying especially hard for you tonight because you are weighing so heavily on my mind.

Your future Wife

2 thoughts on “In every letter, in every line, she saw him.

  1. papa says:

    I was in Nicaragua looking at the moon when I called Marmee!! Also, I’m not sure what you mean by soul mate but I believe that God has given me two!!

Leave a Reply

