Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous.

Yesterday, the raindrops plummeted to the ground during the thunderstorm that accompanied my move-in day. I was with some of my good friends watching Doctor Who and swooning over Matt Smith’s cheekbones when the swirling clouds darkened the window. I didn’t really mind — I actually admire the power of storms. Little did I know that that wasn’t all that was going to fall that day.

The nervousness had slipped to the back burner at this point, but it was still eating away at my thoughts. I was ignoring it, distracting myself with attractive British men so that I wouldn’t focus on the important deadlines that would be on my radar in a week, running on the hamster wheel because it was easier than jumping off. Even when I returned to my room after those BBC episodes, I refused to think about it.

I opened the door to see that the RAs had visited our room and dropped off our planners, papers to fill out, and chocolate (because obviously). There was a little post-it note attached to each of our individual packets; two simple sentences that weren’t meant to be a big deal.

Sydney,
It was nice meeting you! I’m really excited for this year and to get to know you!
Brittney
Psalm 55:22

I had only introduced myself to her for a fraction of a second and I remembered vague details about her: mainly, she lived across the hall and had curly hair. The verse caught my attention though. I skimmed my roommates’ notes and recognized all their verses, but mine? I had to look it up.

Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.

I don’t believe in coincidences. God has a purpose for everything and I know that He was the one who inspired Brittney to write that verse on my specific post-it note. I’m just grateful that she listened. Based on how I’ve been feeling recently, I couldn’t have asked for more encouraging words. If she had given me any of the other verses and I could’ve rattled it off in my head and thought nothing more of it. But she gave me the one I didn’t know that led to me to get in my bible and look it up. I’ve got this one memorized too now 🙂 but that doesn’t mean I won’t go back and read it again.

And yes, Miss Brittney Miller. I’m excited to get to know you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

