Link

Better a good journalist than a poor assassin.

Here’s yet another one! I feel like this is all I’ve been writing lately.

Students abuzz with preparations for Electra
by Sydney Sheltz

The Bethel College Theater Department is in the middle of preparations for the fall drama, Electra. A genre different than most plays performed at Bethel, the tragedy premieres on Thursday, November 14, 2014 at 7:30 PM.

The play is especially unique this year because the leading role of Electra is played by a newcomer to the theater department. Moa Son, a fifth senior and elementary education major, was cast in her first production as the leading female role.

“There was this connection with Electra as soon as I read the script. I knew that even if I didn’t get cast, I wouldn’t regret auditioning,” said Son.

Son has no previous acting experience although she was the costume designer for the leading female role in 39 Steps.

“The whole thing is a great learning experience and a big challenge for me. I have almost 600 lines and it can be very overwhelming because it’s a complex script. I want to understand it but it can be difficult, especially because English is my second language,” said Son when asked about the strain of the play.

Son is accompanied on stage by Wesley Lantz, a freshman who plays Electra’s brother Orestes.

“I originally wasn’t that excited at the audition because it was a tragedy, but now I’m super excited to experience something so different than what I’ve done before,” said Lantz.

Lantz has also performed with Bethel’s theater department in Anne Frank and Then There Were None.

“I participated in the theater department as a REACH student but it’s really nice to actually be a part of the group now,” said Lantz when asked about the differences between this show and ones he’s done before.

The play isn’t just unique because of the cast, but also because of the technical work. Caitlin Halstead, junior cast as Chrysothemis, commented how this play was unlike the others she has worked on.

“Everything is coming together so fast. We also have to work with a small stage, which is something that I’m not used to,” said Halstead.

Sophomore set designer April Reed knows all about that. This play is distinctive also because it’s the first time Reed has designed a set on her own.

“It’s been an interesting collaboration as the director and I have been working together. Some people play it really safe and others like to take a bunch of risks and hope they pay off. Risk-taking is something you’re supposed to do as an artist,” said Reed.

Electra has a non-traditional set and metaphors play a key role in the design. Because it is her first solo design and it isn’t a typical set, Reed admitted that she was nervous for opening night.

“I’m just hoping it won’t fail. I want to be a set designer when I graduate. I think that in the end, I’ll be happy by taking the biggest risk,” said Reed.

Son feels the same way.

“If my professors and friends weren’t encouraging me and supporting me, I wouldn’t never made it this far. On opening night, when I’m on the stage, I’ll know that God provided me with this opportunity and He will be faithful,” said Son.

Electra will premiere Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 7:30 PM. There will also be two other shows Friday and Saturday, November 14 and 15, 2014 at 7:30 PM.

Leave a Reply

