Quote

Confession time: I’m a Swiftie.

I don’t know you but I have something to tell you.

I have a confession.

I love Taylor Swift.

I know all the lyrics to all of her songs (ask my roommates).

I have listened to her 1989 cd on repeat since I bought it the first week it came out (ask my roommates).

I have a beautiful red lipstick from Urban Decay based on Ms. Swift’s obsession with the color and I started wearing lipstick because she started wearing lipstick (my roommates have borrowed this from me so you can ask them). Oh and yes, I plan on buying “Dragon Girl” by NARS because I read on one of her posts on Tumblr that she loves and wears this color.

I cut my hair in a short bob a few weeks after she mentioned in a magazine that she was tired of long hair — and yes, she did end up cutting it. And yes I realize that this last fact pushes me over the edge just a little bit but I’ve done a fairly good job at concealing my inner fangirl, yeah?

I would even consider this woman I’ve never met to be one of my role models. I have never ever ever (sorry! couldn’t resist 🙂 ) been to her concert but it is one of my dreams. Maybe one of these years, I’ll eventually make it a resolution to buy a ticket and treat myself. Until then however, going to one of her concerts will be a temporarily unattainable dream.

If I could, I would like to meet her in person. Just to see if her face is as matte as it looks in all the pictures and if her lipstick is truly that flawless and if she’s really just as tall and awkward in person. And because I would really like to drink coffee with this woman. I mean, really, she’s just the sort of person that I would like to go and have coffee with.

I don’t want to give off the impression of a crazy fanatic or insist that we will be best friends, but I just want to meet her and let her know that I truly respect her as an artist and love her work. Is that so much to ask for? I mean, I go to Bethel College which is pretty close to Notre Dame and I know a person who knows a person who has a class with her brother…we’re bound to run into each other sometime, right??

Nah, probably not. But just to top off this shameless confession, I’ll end it with one of my favorite Taylor quotes:

“One terrible truth I’ve discovered is that we don’t just have a bad day or a bad month. Sometimes we have a bad year. Sometimes we feel like we have no control over the endless waves of bad luck we seem to be experiencing. But one thing you do have control over is your outlook. Your mindset is yours to control and as hard as it is to step back from the situation and have blind faith that things will change for the better, it’s our only option other than ending up in a downward spiral.”

So, Ms. Swift, I don’t know you.

But I have something to tell you.

Leave a Reply

