Either I will find a way or I will make one.

Philip Sidney was a determined little guy, huh?

We share the same name, albeit spelled differently. We also share the same mindset.

The title of this post originated from Philip Sidney. And I vaguely remember thinking that exact same thought a few days ago when I was freaking out about what I was going to do this summer.

My loyal readers already know that I’ve been applying for REU programs across the country so that I can hopefully get accepted into a research program that will spur along the rest of my academic career and even career plans. I was also looking into different internships and have been contacting family members for any information on any research opportunities. Needless to say, I don’t particularly want to be a nanny again.

The above information was presented rather mildly. Honestly, I was stressed. Somehow my mom knew that from nearly three hours away and called me to talk for awhile.

And the next day, this is part of the passage I read in the devotion book:

“The problem occurs when we want to sneak a peek at God’s secret will before it has been revealed. Often we are too concerned with trying to anticipate His next move.

The bottom line is this: don’t worry about God’s secret, pre-determined will. Just trust that God is going to work out His plan for our life as He guides you providentially and focus on obeying God’s moral will day by day by day. When you recognize your dependence upon God for holiness, and you humbly seek to live your life according to His guidelines and moral teachings, you will be in the middle of His will for your life.

God’s will for your life is more relational (love God and others) than it is geographical (know where to live) or occupational (recognize what job to take).”

So this is where I’m at. I’m calmly sipping my peppermint tea while nibbling on almonds and dark chocolate and working on my organic chemistry lab report when I’m reminded of those words. Yeah, I’ll be really disappointed if (notice that I said “if”) I don’t make it into those REU programs. And if I absolutely can’t find an internship or any other job, there’s always the nanny job — my mom brought up a good point that the hours of a nanny job are predictable and usually easy to work around.

Even if I don’t find a way or God will make one, life goes on. Maybe I’ll make that my new life motto.

Leave a Reply

