We live in danger of becoming paralyzed by indecision.

The thing about returning home after a few month absence is that you never know what you’re going to find. The expectations might have changed, the attitudes of certain siblings going through puberty might be spiking HARD in different directions, the schedule had shifted slightly.

On the plus side, the food is always great.

Truth be told, I’m never sure what I should say when I get home. My parents always ask me how life is and what my plans are for the next month/months/year/years. I always feel fairly confident when I give my answer. Yeah, of course I have plans.

They always seem vaguely amused about my plans though. Oh yes, darling. I’m listening to your plans, but just wait until life gets started. We will see about those plans then.

I have two reactions to that:

Firstly, don’t encourage me to have goals and then snub my ambition. I know what I want and I know what I want to be and I would appreciate it if you would respect the fact that I want to get that PhD. Please stop suppressing those snarky smiles when I gush about my plans. I realize that life is unpredictable but that’s no reason to give up on what I want to do.

Secondly, this Bustle article makes me think. Maybe the reason that my parents don’t think I should plan everything so much is because they don’t want me to limit myself. But let’s be honest, I’m not exactly putting myself in a box for wanting a PhD in pharmaceutical sciences — there is a little stretching there.

I’m not sure how to answer the question. Either they’re nervous that I have everything planned, but it should be stated that these plans are not a “be all, end all” sort of arrangement. My life, while laying the foundation for certain plans, is not dependent on the exact future. The other side of the coin is that if I was aimless about my future, they would also be nervous.

To sum up my life, my parents are often nervous.

So what are your plans for “X” amount of time?

Perhaps the better answer is: “no comment.”

One thought on “We live in danger of becoming paralyzed by indecision.

  1. Bev says:

    Doesn’t seem like going home from university has changed any since we were students or the parents of the students

Leave a Reply

