She made it clear that she wasn’t there to be cute.

I’ve been invited to represent my college tomorrow at the Statehouse in order to thank the state representatives for continued funding of private schools.

I’m a woman.

Now, you may be wondering how those two sentences go together. But they do.

I have been told to wear a suit of some sort. I have a blazer, just like the guys. I have a collared shirt, just like the guys. However, I have another option that the guys do not: pencil skirts.

I don’t care who you are, you gotta love a good-fitting pencil skirt.

Therein lies the dilemma. Do I wear a pencil skirt and know that I look good, that I look like a woman, that the first thing people will assume about me is that I have the body that got me invited but not necessarily the brains to go with it? Or do I wear the pants that aren’t exactly flattering in order to look the part of a woman who has the brains and doesn’t require the looks?

The real issue that bothers me is that if I do look good, I don’t necessarily look smart. And vice versa. That’s the issue, here. The fact is, I can be both smart and pretty and yet I’m still judged by one or the other.

It may be slightly hypocritical of me to say these things because there’s a good chance (like 100% chance) that I judge other people on the exact same thing. So basically this post is just me complaining that I don’t know what to wear tomorrow.

Maybe that’s the real issue here.

Leave a Reply

