It’s just as hard to go back to a place you once left as it is to leave again.

Hello nomad.

I’ve arrived at my third home in less than a month. I’ve learned to pack very little in a short amount of time and not to have too much of personal attachment to anything for fear of leaving it behind. I’m not sure how I feel about this aimless living, this self-taught, reality-enforced way of dragging roots and never setting them down anywhere. This internship sets me on course for my future education and career and yet I feel directionless.

Enjoy your stay nomad.

I brought very little with me because I knew that I would be leaving again in 8 weeks. I already have 3 weekends scheduled to leave this hovel-y place and I have a suitcase for my shorter ventures. For a person who puts enormous weight on the places where she lives, this scattered life is hard. I’m used to travelling around and living out a suitcase for a month, but this is slightly different. Maybe it’s because I have to buy my own groceries.

Don’t get too attached nomad.

It’s a shallow existence, this rootless one. I don’t do well in rocky soil and droughts make me thirst for more than a sip of water. This summer is so much different than the last one because at least, I was excited for the last one! The hairs are standing up on the back of my neck and I feel tensed to pounce — but on what, I’ve yet to find out. I want this summer to be over as soon as possible, which isn’t exactly the mindset to have when I have 8 hours in a straight-jacket/lab coat. I’m ready to pack up all my stuff in my trunk again and leave this place of adulthood. Every child feels like that though. I am very much still a child.

Goodbye nomad.

2 thoughts on “It’s just as hard to go back to a place you once left as it is to leave again.

  1. Thank you! I’m an intern at the South Bend Medical Foundation in the New Test and Technology Development lab. That’s the funny thing about clinical labs: you hold little pieces of other people in your hands and yet it’s entirely lonely because there seems to be an unspoken rule not to talk to anyone.

Leave a Reply

