There’s something endearing about scientists that stutter.

I got a coffee cup with the periodic table of elements on it for Christmas and 10 days later, it’s already out of date.  When I drink from this cup or wear my periodic table sweatshirt (yes, I do have one of those and yes, you should get one too), I will be sporting a vintage look even though both of these things are less than a year old.

Bestill my beating heart, you say.  Do you mean –?

Yes I do, dear reader.  The periodic table has four new elements.

“IUPAC has now initiated the process of formalizing names and symbols for these elements temporarily named as ununtrium, (Uut or element 113), ununpentium (Uup, element 115), ununseptium (Uus, element 117), and ununoctium (Uuo, element 118).”

I am a little upset that we can’t keep the old names.  There’s nothing so endearing as someone smarter than you sounding like they are stuttering when they try to explain something.

If we are taking a vote, I suggest Midichlorium.  (If you get this, you are allowed to continue following this blog.  If not, you may be lacking in nerdity and should get that checked out.)

http://www.cnn.com/2016/01/04/world/periodic-table-new-elements/index.html

Leave a Reply

